Delaware – It’s the First State and one of those places that people just have no clue about. All of the East Coast of Sussex County is beach towns – from Slaughter Beach to Fenwick Island. Delaware is a part of Delmarva, which encompasses all of Delaware as well as the areas east of the Chesapeake Bay of Maryland & Virgina. In Sussex County – aka “Slower Lower Delaware” – you’ll find it all, the beach & boardwalk and outlet shopping to small towns amid rural farm and forest land.

Delaware is the First State - being the first to ratify the US Constitution on December 7, 1787. Delaware was a part of Pennsylvania until the "Three Lower Counties" permanently separated in 1776 because of economic, cultural, and political differences. It's known also as "Small Wonder" - due to its size and the contributions Delaware has made to our country as a whole, "The Diamond State" - a name that legend says was given to Delaware by Thomas Jefferson who described Delaware as a 'jewel' among states due to its strategic location on the Eastern Seaboard, and the "Blue Hen State" - our state bird is the blue hen and that dates to colonial times from the fighting Blue Hen Cocks that were carried with the Delaware Revolutionary War Soldiers for entertainment during cockfights (which ironically has been illegal in Delaware since 1852 and is a felony offense).

We have just three counties - New Castle, Kent and Sussex. The capital was originally New Castle, but Dover became the state capital in 1777.